So, here's the story of how it went down. Joey had asked me a couple weeks before if we could schedule a date for March 14th. That's how life has been recently, we had to schedule in "real" dates so we could plan around them. We are busy people. The odd thing about this date is that he wouldn't tell me anything about it. So, I just chalked it up to him wanting to be romantic. I tried to get hints out of him, but he wouldn't give me any (also an odd thing...but that's ok). So, I called him when I got off work that day (a Friday) and he told me that he was at my parents' house (where I'm living right now) and that I should meet him there. I told him okay and I drove home. When I got there, he was in the kitchen cooking a meal. I was completely thrown off, but he told me to go get ready. I had just bought a new dress & was really excited to wear it. So, I go back to my bedroom & the bathroom and get ready. A little while later, he changes into dress clothes and we get into the packed car. There's a table, chairs and several coolers in the car. I'm still clueless. Once we get on the road, I finally get out of him that we're going to the beach and are going to eat supper on the beach. He confides that he's hoping to get there by sunset, but that we are running a little behind schedule. So, we drive to Wrightsville Beach, the first beach we went to as a couple. We get there after sunset and Joey gets out to "check the food." Then he comes over to my side of the car and tells me that the food is probably okay to eat (ie, still warm enough) but that he wanted to take a walk on the beach before we decided if we were going to eat on the beach or figure out something else. So we go down to the beach, both barefoot, and I stand in front of him and he wraps his arms around me. While standing like that he tells me that he loves me and wants to spend his life with me (nothing new). Then he says "What are you doing for the rest of my life?" And I replied, "I don't know." Then he turned me around and got down on one knee and started pulling out the ring. I FINALLY realized what he was doing and asked him if he was serious (as in seriously doing this right now). He then asked if I would spend the rest of our lives with him and become his wife. I threw my arms around him and said yes, and let him put the ring on my finger. Then his friend Jimmy came down (he was there all along) and took some pictures of us, since that was something I really wanted. Then we were all freezing, so we decided not to eat on the beach but to find a restaurant to eat at instead. So, then we called all of our families and some of our friends to tell them our happy news. After a yummy dinner at T.G.I. Friday in Wilmington, we drove back to Fayetteville. Once in Fayetteville, he showed me the "poster" he made that he had intended to use as part of the proposal. So creative he is (all tea lights on a piece of thick poster board)-

The next evening, we went to Raleigh and celebrated with both sets of parents as well as my brother and his brother, sister-in-law and nephews. It was great. I was glad to celebrate with out families.
So, now we're onto wedding planning. We are getting married on December 27, 2008. Just over 9 months away! Right now we're trying to figure out a location so that we can start actually planning. We have a site up on
The Knot right now and I'm planning to create a site through Googlepages as well. I'll put that link up when I get it running. So, yeah that's about it I think. Have a blessed day!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment